Little Help, Buying 04 R1 [Archive] - R1Messagenet.com

: Little Help, Buying 04 R1


danman4968
09-01-2006, 07:06 AM
So the saying goes, "if it sounds too good to be true, then it probably is." Well I found what appears to be a killer deal on an R1, everything seems fullproof, but i want to be reassured im not getting taken. The guy is nice, and very reasonable but i keep hearing from family and friends that its one of those "too good to be true deals" and looking on some sites i see the same year and model but with more miles for around 1-2k more!?

"This beautiful 2004 Yamaha R1 has been my pride and joy for the last two years. Despite the time and money invested, law school doesn't allow me the time to ride, and tuition is steep. Custom paint, decals, wheel stripes, ($1000) Barrac mirrors w/ integrated signals ($399), Scopio two-way alarm w/ all options ($399), Whistler motorcycle radar w/front and rear radar and laser protection ($250), integrated tailight signals ($100), Puig double bubble windscreen ($75), Graves clutch and frame sliders ($180), Cox radiator grill ($70), Gregg's flush mount signals ($120), Michelin Pilot Powers ($300), carbon fiber triple tree cover ($40), faux carbon fiber gas tank lid cover ($30), the stock pipes have been trimmed to race can length and race baffles were installed ($150) bike is obnoxiously loud at full throttle. Commuter miles and wasn't a stunt bike, no accidents, no stories."

- The Sellers Description (are those good? or worth while mods?)

I emailed him, its got 2.7k miles on it...never been laid down, no dings scratches, he says its in perfect condition. Shipping is included in price of $3,200.00. He is even willing to accept payments. As I am new to buying motorcycles and the information given above is like a different language :P, im not sure what to think...dont want to waste time and money getting it shipped here, to find out theres something wrong with it. We are using square trade so im not worried about an "as is" sale but i just would like to make sure, anything else i should know? Any help you guys can offer would be greatly appriciated, Thanks!


http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g180/burritos_are_good_4968/suhweet.jpg

http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g180/burritos_are_good_4968/sickr1yo.jpg

http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g180/burritos_are_good_4968/Pimpshizzle.jpg

http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g180/burritos_are_good_4968/noiceness.jpg

http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g180/burritos_are_good_4968/sickr1.jpg

sxlova07
09-01-2006, 03:26 PM
you dont have to worry about the guy screwing you. the owner is a popular member of the r1-forum. to put yourself as ease I would check over there and look thru his posts, alot of work was put into that bike, and it is GORGOUS

danman4968
09-01-2006, 03:30 PM
Awesome, i am at ease, because it is my first bike, and i am 17, so at my age the money spent would be a big loss...and since i dont really know anyone who knows there stuff i just wanted some reassurance before i went any further. Thanks!

LiquidR1
09-02-2006, 01:36 AM
dude, your 17 and this is your first bike. an r1. i think you should highly reconsider what your getting into. sure it might be a good deal. but an r1 is not a beginners bike. the r1 can spit off an inexperienced rider faster than your heart can make a single beat.

danman4968
09-02-2006, 01:52 PM
Thank you for the advice liquid, I am not so much looking for a bike to show off, or go fast. I just need it to get back and forth to school and work, as my jeep is broken. Not the first time i have been told this, but i will take it easy, i enjoy living :). Thanks again!

The bike is sweet, and i can resell it for a good price in the future. Awesome deal, very reasonable seller, i cant pass it up.

asphaltpilot
09-03-2006, 10:10 PM
Respect the power, and it will respect you. Sweet bike :D

fastnotch2002
09-05-2006, 12:46 AM
are you on crack??? Its a scam, its been going around for years, they send you an email saying there overseas and will ship it at a rediciiously low price! If you wanna lose money go ahead and western union it to him!!